The Development: Three Jan Birch Mysteries

Set in the mid-sixties in upstate New York, Jan Birch is a housewife who lives in a planned development of small, cramped homes. As she struggles with a difficult marriage and an anti-social son, she finds herself involved in the murder of the neighborhood divorcee, her boss’s difficult divorce when she gets a part-time job and, eventually, falls in love with a man who may or may not be a murderer himself.

This short story collection includes the separately published Coffee Clutch, Bartholi’s Rest and Mountain View Terrace in one volume.

Available now at The Kindle Store and Coming soon to, Kobo, the Sony Reader Store and The Apple Store. Trade paperback edition coming soon.


Lucky is Lost

When divorced dad Richard Gibbings gets a call from his little girl telling him that Lucky, the family dog is missing, he immediately rushes over to look for her. Unable to find the dog, he posts flyers around the neighbor hood in hopes that someone might call. Unexpectedly, he receives a ransom note. Someone has taken Lucky. Who would do such a terrible thing? The creepy babysitter? His troubled teenage son? His ex-wife’s new boyfriend? As Richard struggles to learn the truth, his world is turned upside down when he stumbles upon a terrible family secret.

Available at The Kindle Store and at

The Beneficiary


Set against the backdrop of the Los Angeles riots, this contemporary noir follows a struggling real estate agent who’s cooked up a plan to make a big pot of money. Hanging around a Narcotics Anonymous meeting she finds a former addict struggling through the last stages of AIDS. Offering him support, she mortgages her home and uses the money to buy property in his name. Property she insures. As she waits for him to die so she can collect her big payday, she begins to suspect he may not be everything she thought. Now includes the bonus story SIMPLE ADDITION and an excerpt from the upcoming mystery MURDER AT HAPPY ACRES.

Available for Kindle on Other formats at